Dame Kelly Holmes Trust are pleased to announce that Liz Johnson has won the the inaugural More than Medals Athlete award, to be presented at the Sport Gives Back Awards which are being held at the Royal Institution in London's Mayfair on March 5, 2020.

The awards will pay tribute to the hard-working individuals, groups and organisations across the country who are transforming lives through sport. Sporting legends including Lord Sebastian Coe, Daley Thompson CBE and our very own Col Dame Kelly Holmes (MBE mil) will be attending on the night with Dame Kelly presenting the award to Liz.

Announcing Liz as the winner of the award, Trust Athlete Manager Adam Whitehead said:

The work Liz has done over the last year to transform young people’s lives has been incredible. I'm particularly proud of the work she has done in Northern Ireland, tackling divided communities and training young leaders and ambassadors to be agents of change on the T:BUC Uniting Communities programme. We are very proud to award Liz with the first More than Medals award as part of the inaugural Sport Gives Back Awards

Liz added:

It’s a huge honour to be nominated for this award. As athlete mentors, we’re all just going to work and doing something that we love, so to get extra recognition for it is incredible. Every day is a challenge but every day you have the opportunity to make a difference to somebody’s life and that’s really powerful.

Liz Johnson won a gold medal in the 100m breaststroke at the 2008 Beijing Paralympics and is a four-time World Champion swimmer.

The primary purpose of the Awards is to shine a light on the vital work of sporting charities and organisations up and down the country, who are successfully delivering solutions at all levels.  The initiative is the brainchild of former athlete Connie Henry, Founder and Director of Track Academy, whose organisation has more than a decade’s experience making a positive impact on young people’s lives.

You will be able to follow a live stream of the awards and see all ten winners presented with their awards on 5th March, starting at 7.30pm.